Year-Long Production

The Highwood Theatre's Year-Long Production Company is a conservatory-style, audition-only program designed to offer an intensive training experience for performers in grades 7-12.

In addition to learning, rehearsing, and performing a top-quality, full-length musical production, the year will also include a series of multi-week masterclasses by New York and Los Angeles based artists, masterclasses by local theatre artists, private acting and vocal instruction for every student, and group course work designed to support the production and growth as collaborative artists.

In June 2018, the group will mount a production of Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim's iconic dance-heavy musical, inspired by Romeo & Juliet.  Students enrolled in the program should expect to be challenged, and must remain committed to developing skills in all areas of musical theatre in a professional environment.


Rehearsals will be spread out over the course of the the year, with the majority being held in April/May, and most rehearsal dates will be determined by Dates Survey sent to participating families.  Please see the calendar section below for more details.

Audition dates for the program are Wednesday, August 30th and Tuesday, September 5th from 6-8:30 PM.  Students are only required to attend one of these dates, and are encouraged to attend only if they plan to commit to the program if offered a spot.  Auditions are held for acceptance into the year-long program.  Casting for the specific production will be completed during the first 3 months of the program, as the directors get to know each student and their work ethic.

This program is open to current 7th through 12th graders.

Auditions are Wednesday, August 30th from 6:00 - 8:30 PM or Tuesday, September 5 from 6:00 - 6:30 PM.  Sign up to audition.


The cost of this program is $900, which can be paid upon registration, or credit card information can be provided and $100 will be charged each month (September through May).


What to bring to auditions:

  • You must prepare (and memorize) a 30-second monologue, dramatic or comedic
  • You must prepare (memorize and bring sheet music for) a 30-bar section of song in musical theatre style
  • You must bring a brief resume of your past performance credits and training (does not have to include a headshot)
  • A parent or legal guardian must accompany you into the building at the start of auditions to sign the audition form
  • You must stay for the entire audition time slot (6:00 - 8:30 PM)





Contact us at info@thehighwoodtheatre.org for help picking audition material or to schedule an audition coaching session.


Special Policies for this program:

If you are offered a role in this program and you accept, you must pay the full fee ($900 + $25 registration fee) upfront, or provide credit card information (in which case $125 will be charged upon acceptance and $100 will be charged on the first of each subsequent month - October, November,  and December, 2017; January, February, March, April, and May, 2018.)


Unless in the case of severe injury, illness, or another emergency circumstance accepted by Highwood, your acceptance of a place in this program indicates your willingness to pay the full fee amount.  If you chose to withdraw from the program (except for reasons stated above) and are on the monthly payment plan, the remaining balance at the time of withdrawal will be charged to your credit card and no refunds will be made.


Interested in joining the After School Production Company?


Timeline and Required Dates
For required dates, some conflicts may be accepted, depending on their nature - please contact us with questions BEFORE you audition.

Initial Required Rehearsals
Sunday, September 17 from 12:00 - 5:00 PM
Monday, September 18 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Sunday, October 1 from 12:00 - 5:00 PM

Master Class Series with Broadway Performer Nick Blaemire
Tuesday, October 17 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
Wednesday, October 18 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Saturday, October 21 from 5:00 - 9:00 PM
Sunday, October 22 from 12:00 - 3:00 PM
Monday, October 23 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM

November and December
Various rehearsals, dance training, and casting work scheduled by Dates Survey (you’ll get to tell us your availability) - anticipate 2-3 rehearsals per person.
November Required Rehearsal:  Monday, November 20 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
December Required Rehearsal:  Monday, December 11 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM

January through Mid-February
Rehearsals, Private Vocal Lessons and Acting Lessons scheduled by Dates Survey (you’ll get to tell us your availability) - anticipate 3-4 rehearsals plus a voice lesson and acting lesson per person.
January Required Rehearsal: Sunday, January 21 from 12:00 - 5:00 PM
February Required Rehearsal:  Sunday, February 11 from 12:00 - 5:00 PM

Dance Training Master Class Series by World-Champion Dancer Cate Caplin
Tuesday, February 19 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Wednesday, February 21 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Thursday, February 22 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Saturday, February 24 from 1:00 - 5:00 PM
Tuesday, February 27 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Wednesday, February 28 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Thursday, February 29 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM

March
Rehearsals scheduled by Dates survey (you’ll get to tell us your availability) - anticipate 1-2 rehearsals per person.
March Required Rehearsal: Monday, March 19 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM

Main Rehearsal Period - April and May
Rehearsals scheduled by Dates survey, but you are expected to have a fair amount of availability during these months.  You should expect to have around three rehearsals per week on weekday evenings or weekends.
April Required Rehearsal:  Monday, April 16 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
May Required Rehearsals:  Saturday, May 12 from 1:00 - 6:00 PM and Saturday, May 19 from 1:00 - 6:00 PM

Tech Week and Performances (all required)
Tuesday, May 29 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Wednesday, May 30 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Thursday, May 31 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Touch-up Rehearsal: Thursday, June 7 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM

Friday, June 1 at 8:00 PM (call time: 5:00 PM)
Saturday, June 2 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM (call time 11:30 PM)
Sunday, June 3 at 2:00 PM (call time: 11:30 PM)
Friday, June 8 at 8:00 PM (call time: 5:00 PM)
Saturday, June 9 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM (call time: 11:30 PM)
Sunday, June 10 at 2:00 PM (call time: 11:30 PM)