Not an actor, or play an instrument?  Pit Bands for all of Highwood's musical productions are made up of student musicians!  


Musicians interested in joining the Pit Band for a show must have both availability to attend the listed rehearsals and performances (if you have a small conflict, please let us know) and the ability to read music and play with intermediate proficiency.  You are expected to mostly learn your part on your own, though we are happy to schedule individual times to work with musicians as needed.


Joining the pit band is free of charge, and you can also get SSL hours for playing.  However, we do expect a commitment to the production and the pit band - last-minute conflicts will not be accepted.


Playing in the band is not only a wonderful, professional experience, but it is also fun, challenging, and helps prepare you for college or the professional world.  Band members feel a part of the team, get to interact with the cast and crew, and always have a great time!


Please see information below for the instruments we are seeking for specific productions.  Interested?  Let us know by filling out the Pit Band Survey!  Questions? E-mail kkearney@thehighwoodtheatre.org.


School of Rock

Instruments
2 Guitars (Electric)

Electric Bass

Drum Set

Keyboard


Schedule

​Final Two Required Rehearsals (must attend at least one)
Thursday, November 30 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Saturday, December 2 from 1:00 - 4:30 PM

Tech Rehearsals (required)
Monday, December 4 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Wednesday, December 6 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Thursday, December 7 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Brush Up: Thursday, December 14 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM (not required)

Performances (required)
Friday, December 8 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, December 9 at 8:00 PM
Sunday, December 10 at 12:00 PM
Friday, December 15 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, December 16 at 2:00 PM
Sunday, December 17 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM


​Sweet Charity

Instruments
Violins

Cello

Bass (Acoustic)

Reeds (Piccolo, Flute, Clarinet, Alto Sax, Oboe, Tenor Sax, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, Baritone Sax)

Trumpet

Trombone

Drum Set

Concert Percussion

Guitar (Acoustic and Electric)

Electric Bass


Schedule

Final Two Required Rehearsals (must attend at least one)
Thursday, March 8 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
Saturday, March 10 from 1:00 - 4:30 PM

Tech Rehearsals (required)
Monday, March 12 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Wednesday, March 14 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Thursday, March 15 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM

Performances (required)
Friday, March 16 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 17 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 18 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM


Soon​ (professional production)

Instruments
Guitar
Bass
Drum Set

Schedule
a band rehearsal will be scheduled prior to Tech Week
Note: Soon is only about 90 minutes long - so performances will not run too late

Tech Rehearsals (required)
Sunday, April 8 from 12:00 - 4:00 PM
Monday, April 9 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Tuesday, April 10 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Wednesday, April 11 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM


Performances (required)
Thursday, April 12 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM
Friday, April 13 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 14 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 15 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM
Friday, April 20 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 21 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 22 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM
Friday, April 27 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 28 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 29 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM

Interested in joining the After School Production Company?


Interested in Private Lessons?


West Side Story

Instruments
Bass

Cellos

Drum Set

Concert Percussion

Guitar (Acoustic and Electric)

French Horns

Keyboard

Reeds (Alto Sax, Tenor Sax, Baritone Sax, Flute, Piccolo, Clarinet, Bassoon, Bass Clarinet, English Horn)

Trombones

Trumpets

Violins


Schedule

additional band rehearsals will be scheduled by Dates Survey

Final Two Required Rehearsals (must attend at least one)

Saturday, May 12 from 1:00 - 6:00 PM

Saturday, May 19 from 1:00 - 6:00 PM

Tech Week (required)
Tuesday, May 29 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Wednesday, May 30 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Thursday, May 31 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
Touch-up Rehearsal: Thursday, June 7 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM


Performances (required)
Friday, June 1 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, June 2 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
Sunday, June 3 at 2:00 PM
Friday, June 8 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, June 9 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
Sunday, June 10 at 2:00 PM


Godspell

Instruments
Bass

Drums

Guitar


Schedule

Tech Rehearsals (required)

Wednesday, July 18 from 12:30 - 3:30 PM

Thursday, July 19 from 12:30 - 3:30 PM

Friday, July 20 from 10:00 - 12:30 PM


Performances (required)

Friday, July 20 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, July 21 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM

Sunday, July 22 at 2:00 PM


My Fair Lady

Instruments

Bass (Acoustic)

Cello

Harp

French Horn

Percussion (Concert)

Flute/Picollo

Oboe/English Horn

Clarinet

Bassoon

Trombone

Trumpet

Viola

Violins


Schedule

Final Two Required Rehearsals (must attend at least one)

Wednesday, July 18 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM

Thursday, July 19 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM


Tech Rehearsals (required)

Tuesday, July 24 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM

Wednesday, July 25 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM

Thursday, July 26 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM


Performances (required)

Friday, July 27 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, July 28 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM

Sunday, July 29 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM



Pit Bands